Starting Solids with a Reluctant Baby

People always warned me that my two kids would be different. And how right they were. My younger daughter (at just over six months) is a very reluctant eater – and drinker it seems.

From raising a wonderfully spirited two year old who virtually eats any food, I have been very troubled by Emma (my baby) and her lack of desire to eat. I dragged her to the clinic sister again this week for some advice. And I am glad I did.

Food Suggestions

Firstly, after a weigh in, I was told not to worry so much. Secondly, she suggested I move on from the Purity Rice Cereal and Maize cereal because clearly Emma did not fancy their taste. She brought up the idea of Cerelac Original as there is a distinct taste that she could enjoy. The other option (amongst the many she came up with) was butternut. I was nervous to start with butternut but clearly I was being far too cautious! Emma is actually opening her mouth (well I call it being co-operative) if I feed her either meal.

I was beginning to wonder if my child had her jaws wired shut when it came to food. But not so! I think she just did not enjoy the porridge I had religiously been trying to feed her.

Milk Quotas

Emma’s drinking has also been a worry for me. At first she used to nearly attack me to breastfeed until the point I could no longer cope and she happily moved on to the bottle. Over the last month she moved from drinking 4 – 5 bottles of 200ml a day to a tiny 2 and 1/2 bottles in a day. This was my other cause for concern. She sleeps very well at night so it is only during the day that I get to feed her the milk.  

The advice here was that I keep her to a strict 4 hour regime. No drinking milk between. And this too seems to have been positive because she is now eager when I offer the bottle. I did offer her some water when she was a bit unhappy after some cereal, which she took and still drank well on the next feed.

Take Advice from People who Know and Care
I am not claiming to be a nurse or clinic sister but I am suggesting that as mom’s we might take things so seriously that we fail to relax and look at options. All I can say as a mom of two is that advice is great – you can take it and use it or dispose of it when it is not relevant.

Purity has a good webpage with a lot of useful information – I found the page on Eating Misconceptions quite good.

My lesson I think (in the eternal “School of Motherhood”) is that I need to accept what my daughter is telling me instead of my own expectations of what she needs.

For more of my blogs try reading my most recent post.

LIKE ON FACEBOOK

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenny
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 13:19:58

    I guess they haven’t read the book?

    Reply

  2. Cindy Butler
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 13:54:37

    “My lesson I think (in the eternal “School of Motherhood”) is that I need to accept what my daughter is telling me instead of my own expectations of what she needs.” Ditto! Dylan stopped eating meat at 14 months and with just adding a few other protein essentials to his diet, he is still thriving!

    Just made sure he ate some eggs and cheese a couple times a week! Fish fingers were also a help! Luckily he loves fruit, any fruit, from grapes to blue berries to watermelon and bananas! Veggies are also a struggle. He likes plain sweetcorn on the cob, peas and carrots.

    Reply

    • Caryn
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 14:02:13

      We seriously need to get Zoe to inspire that man of yours!

      But yes – if that is what he likes, great. We finally got Zoe to start eating scrambled eggs again. For some reason she regards it as potato – for some reason. Which she loves.

      Reply

  3. Mandy
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 10:41:29

    Both my girls started out eating solids okay. It was at about 9-12 mths that we had issues with Erin – if she’d had the choice, she would have lived on peas (even frozen ones) or bananas.

    Today, at 7, Erin is more adventurous with veggies than her older sister is at 11. If offered the choice, for example, between grapes and capiscum (red bell peppers) in her lunch box, she’d choose the capsicum! She’s happy to eat most veggies.

    Megan on the other hand wont eat mushrooms, tomatoes or capsicums – she says they feel funny in her mouth, so I reckon its the texture that she doesn’t like. Fortunately, she’ll eat most other veggies, but is less likely to try new things than Erin. Unless I tell her that her older cousins eat it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

