Potty Training A Toddler

As mothers we always want our kids to reach the next milestone comfortably. The trouble with milestones is that they are only ever guidelines on what your child ‘should’ be doing at any stage. Potty training is just the same. When is your little toddler aware enough to communicate his/her needs to you? I don’t believe that there should be a set age for this.

Potty training became an issue when I tried to register my child in a good play school in our area. I was told repeatedly to make sure she was fully trained before she started. So at the end of last year I took some advice from my mom and started trying to get Zoe to go “potty”. She was not impressed. She was not interested.

Wait for the Right Time
I gave up. I delayed her start at the school and went on December holidays to my folks in Jo’burg. Then my mom inspired my daughter. She told her she needed to potty before she got in the bath. My daughter believed her – and did. Thus started our little tradition. Each evening she went potty before the bath. We added a few more ‘times’ to go potty and soon enough she was willing to go and could control her bladder in a limited way.

The Logic of Kids
I discovered something else about my daughter. Give her choices YOU want. I don’t ask her IF she wants to go potty. I ask her which potty she wants (we have a small one on the floor and an insert into our normal toilet). So she chooses one and thinks she got her own way. We rewarded her by telling her she could wear BIG GIRL Nappies during the day. This worked.

While we have not perfected the art of a dry nappy all the time, we have had some success. Two days ago she went through the whole day with a dry nappy. And yesterday she made the day mother change her Pull-Up because she had made an accidental slip. She WANTS a dry nappy.

My Advice
For everything under heaven there is a season. Don’t rush your little one. Find their timing and move with that.

For another of my Mommy blogs, read about Dealing with Childhood Fears.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 10:27:45

    I am so happy for you! I remember you being stressed about this when I was down there!

    Reply

  2. Caryn
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 11:01:40

    Even her day mother says she is doing better. Which makes me feel a little happier

    Reply

  3. mandylc
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 12:11:21

    Hang in there. Both of my kids were “in there own time” kinds. With Megan, we discovered the problem – eventually. She hated the sit down potty. We had three different types of “floor” potties and she wouldn’t use any of them. Then one day, I bought one of the potty seats that fit on the loo. And that was that. Not a single accident. Ever. She made her own mind up and that was that.

    Erin took a bit longer to be dry, but I think we maybe only had two accidents at night once she made up her mind not to wear the nappies.

    Our kids know there own minds – and their own bodies – better than we give them credit for I think.

    Reply

  4. gmross
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 12:53:43

    Mandy, the one thing all these kids have in common is that they are Snashall descendants. And we all know you can’t tell a Snashall to do anything they don’t want to do!

    (Ok, some people might say that the Ross genetics are the same, but I’m not admitting to that!)

    Reply

  5. mandylc
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 09:48:13

    Just remembered – wasn’t all roses with Erin. She had a few night time accidents after we moved to Aus. Stress-related I guess.

    But she wont be wearing nappies down the aisle… promise!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Birth 2 School » Blog Archive » Potty Training A Toddler « keepingourkidsbusy

Leave a Reply

