Easy cooking with kids

So my mission was to find something easy to bake for dessert when my lemon meringue failed. My husband suggested I make the Ina Paarmans Chocolate Brownies that we had in the cupboard. So my 2 year old daughter Zoe and I donned the aprons and prepared the brownies. What easy baking!

You simply mix oil, melted butter and eggs with the mixer, add milk, beat again. Add ingredients from box and fold in. Zoe liked the folding in. Unlike the measuring cups where she wanted ingredients everywhere BUT in the bowl the mixing was fun! Even the noise from my mixer did not put her off staring into the bowl.

You pour ingredients into your pan, cook for 35 minutes and allow to cool. I added some icing sugar on top.

And my friends loved the brownies.

Reflecting on it. Had Zoe been maybe two years older I could have measured the ingredients out and just told her what to do (well if we exclude the oven). But it was truly that simple. And I think the simplicity is key – her attention span ran out when I put them in the oven and she went off to play somewhere else.

For another truly easy recipe try the Cheesecake or maybe some chocolate Easter Eggs for your kids. All in the name of fun and creativity in our kitchen!

Leave a Reply

